Gryffindor is one of the four houses of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. It was created by one of the four founders of the school, Godric Gryffindor. The ghost of Gryffindor is Nearly Headless Nick, famous for his swinging head. The emblem of Gryffindor is the lion, and its colours are scarlet and gold. The house common room is located in Gryffindor tower, and can only be entered through the Fat Lady’s portrait after having uttered the correct password.  Gryffindors are known for their bravery, loyalty and nerve but can also for their short tempers and recklessness. Famous Gryffindors include Harry Potter and Albus Dumbledore.

Updated on

Harry Potter Wizarding Houses

Harry Potter

There are four wizarding houses at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff and Slytherin. When new students arrive at Hogwarts, the Sorting Hat is placed on their head and the student is then placed in one of the four Hogwarts wizarding houses.

Harry Potter Guides
Browse through our curated Harry Potter Guides for additional categorizations, tips, details, variations, styles, and histories of Harry Potter. Guides provide additional insights into the unique properties and shared relationships between elements.
Browse Pop Culture Collections
Pop Culture