Ravenclaw is one of the four houses of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. It was created by one of the four founders of the school, Rowena Ravenclaw. The emblem of Ravenclaw is the eagle and the house colours are blue and bronze. The ghost of Ravenclaw is the Grey Lady, a rather sad and melancholic character.

The house common room is in Ravenclaw tower in the highest part of Hogwarts castle. Ravenclaw members are known for their intelligence, wit and shrewdness. Famous Ravenclaws include Luna Lovegood and Gilderoy Lockhart.

Updated on

Harry Potter Wizarding Houses

Harry Potter

There are four wizarding houses at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff and Slytherin. When new students arrive at Hogwarts, the Sorting Hat is placed on their head and the student is then placed in one of the four Hogwarts wizarding houses.

Harry Potter Guides
Browse through our curated Harry Potter Guides for additional categorizations, tips, details, variations, styles, and histories of Harry Potter. Guides provide additional insights into the unique properties and shared relationships between elements.
Browse Pop Culture Collections
Pop Culture