Slytherin is one of the four houses of Hogwarts. It was created by one of the four founders of Hogwarts, Salazar Slytherin. The emblem of Slytherin house is the serpent and the house colours are Emerald and Silver. The ghost of Slytherin house is the Bloody Baron, who can be mysterious and terrifying to other Hogwarts students.

The house common room is in the Hogwarts dungeon and overlooks the Great Lake. Slytherin is known for cunning, ambitious and resourceful students but is also known for producing many dark witches and wizards. You-Know-Who was in Slytherin, as well as many of his followers.

Updated on

Harry Potter Wizarding Houses

Harry Potter

There are four wizarding houses at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff and Slytherin. When new students arrive at Hogwarts, the Sorting Hat is placed on their head and the student is then placed in one of the four Hogwarts wizarding houses.

Harry Potter Guides
Browse through our curated Harry Potter Guides for additional categorizations, tips, details, variations, styles, and histories of Harry Potter. Guides provide additional insights into the unique properties and shared relationships between elements.
Browse Pop Culture Collections
Pop Culture